[Coco] Someone trying to ftp

Bob Devries devries.bob at gmail.com
Mon Nov 12 19:12:09 EST 2007


Benoit Bleau said:


> In you case, 218.67.245.189 is from the following ISP:


If you look further down the whois output, you'll see that the particular IP
number given isn't allocated. This makes me think that the IP number may be
spoofed.

--
Regards, Bob Devries, Dalby, Queensland, Australia

Isaiah 50:4 The sovereign Lord has given me
the capacity to be his spokesman,
so that I know how to help the weary.

website: http://www.home.gil.com.au/~bdevasl
my blog: http://bdevries.invigorated.org/

----- Original Message -----
From: "Benoit Bleau" <benbleau at gmail.com>
To: "CoCoList for Color Computer Enthusiasts" <coco at maltedmedia.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 13, 2007 9:25 AM
Subject: Re: [Coco] Someone trying to ftp



> Kevin Diggs wrote:

>>

>> P.S.: Someone from 218.67.245.189 is tryin' to ftp into my computer. How

>> do I find out who this is? (89.43.124.254 too!)

>>

>>

> You can use WHOIS to find this out, then you can report the abuse the the

> ISP's admins.

>

> I use http://www.arin.net/whois/ to find out.

>

>

> OrgName: Asia Pacific Network Information Centre OrgID: APNIC

> <http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=O%20%21%20APNIC>

> Address: PO Box 2131

> City: Milton

> StateProv: QLD

> PostalCode: 4064

> Country: AU

>

> And the abuse http is: http://www.apnic.net/info/faq/abuse.

>

> The other one, 89.43.124.254 is:

>

> OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre OrgID: RIPE

> <http://ws.arin.net/whois/?queryinput=O%20%21%20RIPE>

> Address: P.O. Box 10096

> City: Amsterdam

> StateProv: PostalCode: 1001EB

> Country: NL

>

> No abuse/admin registered.

>

> Usually these would be hijacked computers, and the owners don't even know

> about it. Reporting them to the ISP *might* help, though.

>

> -Benoit

>

>

>

> --

> Coco mailing list

> Coco at maltedmedia.com

> http://five.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/coco





More information about the Coco mailing list