[Coco] yahoo groups

Manney mannslists at invigorated.org
Sat Apr 21 03:38:19 EDT 2007

Gene Heskett wrote:
> On Friday 20 April 2007, John E. Malmberg wrote:
>> Roger Merchberger wrote:
>>> Rumor has it that Gene Heskett may have mentioned these words:
>>>> ... if the X-Originating-IP: header can be believed.
>>> Yes, but can it? Anything X* in the headers is optional, and it depends
>>> on if *your* server is inserting that header, or if it's coming from the
>>> other end of the SMTP conversation - if it's from the other end, it can
>>> (and probably is) spoofed to try to look legit.
>>> What do your Received: headers say? Also, what are you running for an MTA?
> fetchmail sucks from 3 accounts, and hands it off to procmail who applies a 
> few rules and feeds most of it through spamd, then looks at what spamd 
> thought of it and disposes of it accordingly.  The X-Originating-IP: is, if 
> its there at all, the lowest in the header which I'd assume would be valid 
> because all the intervening relays all add their fingerprints above the 
> previous on in the chain.  Or at least that's the theory.

Gene, are you using Spam Assassin? I can't remember, but in an old post, 
I thought you said you were using it.

The good thing about my host is that it runs all email through Spam 
Assassin before it gets to me if I ask it to. Takes the burden of a 
slow, CPU hogging PERL script off of my hands. :)


More information about the Coco mailing list