[Coco] [Coco OT] -- Is this a scam?

jimcox at miba51.com jimcox at miba51.com
Fri Apr 16 01:50:41 EDT 2004


Mike:

To me this looks like a scam. Here is the actual URL for
USPS tracking:

http://usps.com/shipping/trackandconfirm.htm?from=home&page=0035trackandconfirm

I recently used this URL. Also I set up USPS email
notification for the package I was expecting and it didn't
look anything like this. One other thing, from what I can
tell from the real USPS site, you have to sign up
seperately for each package you are expecting and have a
number for, the USPS does not sign you up automatically.

Just my $0.02 and I could have missed something. You may
want to forward it to the USPS fraud division. Also,
Isn't there a why to set you browser to show the actual
URL on the bottom? That would show you if you are being
redirected to a bogus site. Cheers!

Jim

PS: I would add something 6X09 or CoCo related to make
this some what on-topic, but can't think of anything.

On Thu, 15 Apr 2004 23:51:34 EDT
KnudsenMJ at aol.com wrote:

>I just got this email. Never saw anything like this

>before. I'm not

>expecting a package from anyone. I'm wondering what

>happens if someone logs on to

>that URL. I'm not looking for guinea pig volunteers, but

>anyone have any ideas?

>Thanks, Mike K.

>

>----begin quoted message---

>

>Dear MIKE KNUDSEN,

>

>This notification is being sent to you at the request of

>the shipper.

>

>A package with the following Priority Mail label number

>xxxxxx xxxxx xxx xxxx

>is scheduled to be shipped to you on 04/15/2004.

>

>Please go to <A

>HREF="http://trkcnfrm1.smi.usps.com">Track and

>Confirm</A> at

>www.usps.com and use the label number to check the

>delivery status of your

>package.

>

>Thank you,

>United States Postal Service&#174

>

>--

>Coco mailing list

>Coco at maltedmedia.com

>http://five.pairlist.net/mailman/listinfo/coco





More information about the Coco mailing list